Skip to navigation Skip to content

Oxford University – Cyber Security Oxford


Creating a safe, secure and prosperous cyberspace through internationally leading research and educational programmes


Academic Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR) Renewed

The University of Oxford is an Academic Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR).

ACE-CSRs are jointly recognised by the UK National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), with 21 universities across the UK now members of the scheme. The scheme is a part of the UK Government’s National Cyber Security Strategy, which involves engagement with industry and academia to make the UK more resilient to cyber attacks, and to protect and promote the UK in a digital world.

The work of the Department of Computer Science, in collaboration with departments across the University, saw Oxford become one of the first higher education institutions to achieve the accolade in 2012. It was recently announced that the University has secured its position for five more years.

The repeat recognition was the result of an exacting assessment, with recipients required to meet stringent standards and requirements, including:

  • a commitment to supporting and investing in cyber security research capacity and capability
  • a critical mass of academic staff engaged in leading-edge cyber security research
  • a proven track record of producing high impact cyber security research
  • sustained funding from a variety of sources to ensure the continuing financial viability of the research team’s activities

The achievement is testament to Oxford’s position at the forefront of cyber security and its sustained, cutting-edge activity in the area, with the majority arising from the Department of Computer Science. Initially headed by Professor Andrew Martin in the department, the University’s membership of the scheme is currently led by Professor Lucas Kello, based in the Department of Politics & International Relations.

Read more information and see the full list of recognised universities at:

(Source: Department of Computer Science –