Skip to navigation Skip to content

Oxford University – Cyber Security Oxford


Creating a safe, secure and prosperous cyberspace through internationally leading research and educational programmes


Oxford CTF Team place 6th out of 429 at BackdoorCTF 2016

, , ,

The newly formed Oxford Capture the Flag team “Ox002147” faced tough competition at the annual flagship CTF competition conducted by SDSLabs and InfoSecIITR. They finished an impressive 6th place out of 429 teams, many of whom are vastly more experienced.  The team consisted of Ilias Giechaskiel (CDT2014), David Korczynski, Rodrigo Carvalho (CDT2013), Alastair Janse van Rensburg (CDT2014), Louise Axon (CDT2014) and scored a total of 2280 points completing 15 puzzles over the 24 hour event.

The team plans to continue their impressive form at future events.

Bushra Alahmadi awarded Klaus Brunnstein Distinction

, ,

Bushra Alahmadi’s (CDT 2013) work on ‘Malware Classification using Network Flow Sequence Mining’ has been recognised by the Computer Antivirus Research Organisation at the 10th CARO workshop held in Romania May 19th – 20th. The annual award was presented by well-known researcher Vessellin Bontchev as part of the two day workshop focussing on “War of the Machines”. Bushra relished the opportunity to present her findings to worldwide leaders in cybersecurity and continues to work on cutting edge research.